Deus Ex Machina

Misfortune

Throughout all of our lives we will each encounter our fair share of misfortune, be it in the academic sense, in our personal lives or financially.  Regardless of the encounter, we much each face the happenstance wholeheartedly and tough it out.  Having a spell of bad luck isn’t something we can just lay down and give up over, on the contrary, we must stand strong and face it with confidence.  Samuel C. Florman encountered an issue such as this on the 8th chapter of his book as his company faced numerous occurrences of misfortune.  During the years of 1961-1963 Samuel’s company embraced 3 difficult jobs, each of which were a new challenge for the firm.  After steady progression, one of the jobs was almost halted indefinitely because of a political dispute over a road.  Rather than lay down and take the hit, Samuel’s firm was vigilant and progressed on through, making their own fortune and luck.

Vigilance

It is crucial that throughout any troublesome occurrence that we remain vigilant just as Samuel did in his book.  It is very easy to just realize there is an issue and avoid all together, but it is also unethical as well.  What if every time we ran into a less than ideal situation we just turned away and avoided it all together?  Nothing would ever get done!  Granted the scenario explained in the story has much higher stakes than many issues we might face in our current day-to-day lives, the same concept could still be utilized though.  Just turning a cheek and avoiding problems is one of the most unethical things that you can do.  It is important to not be afraid of what could happen.  Terry Ahwal encountered this fear almost daily as he grew up in the Israeli occupation where going to the market could get you killed.  Terry illustrates a story where he wanted to visit his grandmother one evening, and as he traveled the two or so blocks he encountered a group of soldiers who would have killed him instantly.  Rather than stay at home and forget the opportunity to visit his family, he faced the fear and was vigilant through the misfortune of encountering a group of soldiers.

Deus Ex Machina

It seems that many times throughout my life I have had some supernatural power watching over me, guiding my choices and conflicts to the my best interest.  The ancient Greeks described this as Deus Ex Machina, or “God from the machine,” meaning an issue was abruptly resolved with the intervention of some implicit character (A God).  Countless times Deus Ex Machina has resolved my issues, the most outstanding being the journey I embarked on to arrive at VT.  I was not a very good high school student, only spending a few hours a week on studies for all of my classes, which came back to bite me when applying to colleges.  After receiving a few denials, I soon realized I was at a major cross roads.  Instead of give up and pick up the first brainless job I could get, an almost supernatural power acted on my behalf and introduced me to the wonders of Community College and the powers it holds.  Through major life changes and dedications I not only was accepted to a major university, but my first choice!

 

Here is a link to a website giving tips on how to best deal with misfortune!

Leave a comment